Creative Writing Faculty and Staff

MFA workshop instructors identified under "Courses Taught"

Jane Alison

Director of Creative Writing and author of Nine Island, The Love Artist, The Marriage of the Sea, Change Me, Natives and Exotics, and the memoir The Sisters Antipodes. More details.

Jeffery Renard Allen

Author of the novels Song of the Shank and Rails Under My Back, as well as the story collection Holding Pattern and two poetry collections. More details.

John Casey

Winner of the National Book Award for his novel Spartina, Casey is also author of Compass Rose and The Half-Life of Happiness, the nonfiction Beyond the First Draft: The Art of Fiction, and several other works of short fiction, nonfiction, and translation. More details.

Elizabeth Denton

Director of our Area Program in Literary Prose (APLP). Denton's collection is Kneeling on Rice and her short fiction has appeared in The Kenyon Review, Blackbird, Massachusetts Review, Virginia Quarterly Review, and elsewhere. More details.

Rita Dove

Dove is a winner of the Pulitzer Prize in Poetry and a former Poet Laureate of the United States. Her most recent collection is Collected Poems: 1974–2004 from W. W. Norton. More details.

Paul Guest

Guest's poetry collections include The Resurrection of the Body and the Ruin of the World, Notes for My Body Double, and My Index of Slightly Horrifying Knowledge. His memoir is One More Theory About Happiness. More details.

Jeb Livingood

Associate Director of Creative Writing. His fiction and nonfiction has appeared in Cream City Review, Yemassee, Best New American Voices, The Hollins Critic, and elsewhere, and he is the founding series editor of Best New Poets and faculty advisor for Meridian. More details.

Barbara Moriarty

Administrative Assistant for the Creative Writing Program, handling MFA applications and admission, resolving student registration issues, and helping to coordinate program events.

Debra Nystrom

Nystrom’s poetry collections include Night Sky Frequencies and Selected Poems, Bad River Road, Torn Sky, and A Quarter Turn. More details.

Gregory Orr

Greg Orr is the author of more than ten collections of poetry and several volumes of essays, criticism, and memoir. His most recent collection is River Inside the River. More details.

Thomas Pierce

Thomas Pierce is a visiting assistant professor and the author of the novel The Afterlives and a short story collection, Hall of Small Mammals. His stories have appeared in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Zoetrope, The Oxford American, The Best American Non-Required Reading and the O. Henry Prize Stories. More details.

Lisa Russ Spaar

Director of our APPW Program, Spaar's poetry collections include Vanitas, Rough; Satin Cash; and Blue Venus. Spaar has edited several anthologies and books of essays, including the recent Monticello in Mind: Fifty Contemporary Poems on Jefferson. More details.

Christopher Tilghman

Tilghman’s novels and story collections include The Right-Hand Shore, Roads of the Heart, The Way People Run, Mason's Retreat, and In a Father's Place. More details.

More CW Info

For more information on our Creative Writing Program, select one of the buttons at right.